Sir Charles Barry, who was selected as the architect, was the ideal designer for The Travellers Club.
The present building was opened in 1832 to much acclaim.The Pall Mall elevation of The Travellers is inspired by Raphael’s Palazzo Pandolfini in Florence, and the garden elevation owes much to Venetian influence, after his return from the Grand Tour. Barry received just under £1,500 for his work, and became a member of the Club in 1834.
The principal rooms still retain many of the original features, with fine examples of mahogany furniture and light fittings designed by Barry himself, having been adapted from oil to gas and finally to electricity. The handrail fitted to the main staircase, for the benefit of the old and infirm Prince Talleyrand, survives as a tangible reminder of Lord Castlereagh’s original intentions.
In 1911, the Coffee Room was transferred upstairs and the original room which had served that purpose became the present Smoking Room. At the same time, the Hall was enlarged by absorbing the western bay of the Court. In 1930-31, two new storeys were added over the Billiard Room by H.L. Andersen. Bomb damage sustained during the WWII was repaired in the early 1950's and more recently, the Club has been renovated and the delicate plasterwork and panelling restored.
Today, the Library remains the room in the Clubhouse most closely associated with travel. In character, it may be summarised as a gentleman's library of the last century and the content may be classified as two-thirds travel. The original catalogue was prepared by Benjamin Wheatley, the distinguished bibliographer, who also worked at the Athenæum. Much admired by Lord Curzon as the perfect room for a library, it is generally regarded as one of the most charming rooms in London. The central section is particularly striking, decorated with a cast of the Bassae Frieze, which was excavated in the Peloponnesus by the architect C.R. Cockerell, founder member of the Club.
In recent years the Club has developed the Bramall Room on the lower ground floor, which provides access to Carlton Gardens where members may enjoy the pleasant surroundings in summer weather, and the Map Room adjacent where modern travel literature and a collection of maps of important journeys of exploration can be found.